> Changing the thermostat
rdx
post Mar 18 2011, 05:22 AM
Post #1
Tire Changer
Group Icon
Group: Members
Member No.: 14727
Hey guys, so I got the 160 degree Hypertech thermostat which I would like to change by myself, I'm not a mechanic so I would like to know if there's anything I should be specially careful about before I do it? I found some steps on the web and thought it might be pretty easy.. http://www.ehow.com/how_6332370_change-the...lt1-engine.html

I just wanted to ask you if you think it would be a good idea to do it myself or if I just definetely should take it to the mechanic for this? If I do it, do I need to flush the coolant out of the system before I change it or not? any other tips, caution, advice?

BTW, it's time for a throttle body bypass as well!

Thanks!

--------------------
Rodolfo

96 Formula Convertible
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tyler
post Mar 18 2011, 11:49 AM
Post #2
Master Technician
Group Icon
Group: Global Staff
Member No.: 410
I would drain about 1/2 gallon out of the radiator so it wont leak all over the Opti when you take it apart.

--------------------
Tyler
97 Formula-6M,1.6RR,52mmTB,SLP dual cat headers,CAI,Mac cat-back,LCA's,PHR,& Nitto DR'S & 3:73 gears.Also port matched heads & intake. Best run so far-13.484 @ 102.784 mph. No run yet since cam installed.

Good....bad....I'm the guy with the gun.

Shop smart,shop S Mart!
+Quote Post
024mula
post Mar 18 2011, 02:04 PM
Post #3
Tire Changer
Group Icon
Member No.: 10443
"I recently seen a 4th gen (1993 - 1997) Firebird at the local automatic carwash. This car wash has an undercarriage "blaster" in which it sprays water at high pressure at the undercarriage of your car. Remember, if you have a 4th gen (1993 - 1997) Firebird or Camaro V8, you want to avoid these undercarriage car washes. If you get your opti-spark wet, you will regret it. Anyway, I thought I would post this for those who do not know about the LT1 opti-spark and water".

Be careful don't get it wet.